Real Madrid fans react to Karim Benzema’s wrongfully disallowed goal

Real Madrid vs. Liverpool, Karim Benzema (Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images)
Real Madrid vs. Liverpool, Karim Benzema (Photo by Shaun Botterill/Getty Images) /

It looked like Real Madrid had taken the lead late in the first half against Liverpool.

Karim Benzema was in on goal after a wonderful ball over the top, but the Pichichi winner hesitated in the box as the charging Alisson tried to steal the ball off of his foot. Following several deflections ( including the decider in the VAR control room) came off of Fabinho’s knee before Benzema scored what looked to be the opener.

Though Fabinho made an intentional play on the ball – which would negate Benzema being offside – VAR decided to uphold the call made on the field, which was unfortunately offside.

Real Madrid fans were not pleased with the decision.

Good shout here from Jeff!

After initially realizing that Benzema was onside on the initial ball, I couldn’t believe that the officials saw the call stand! Given how long they looked at the play and the great angles shown, I thought the decision would be changed.


It just wouldn’t be right if Real Madrid took the lead in a Champions League match in the first half, would it?

They have not led in the first half since the first leg of the quarterfinals at Chelsea.

How was Karim Benzema offside if a Liverpool player was behind him?

According to the goalkeeper offside rule:

"“The law states that a player is in an offside position if any of their body parts, except the hands and arms, are in the opponents’ half of the pitch, and closer to the opponents’ goal line than both the ball and the second-last opponent (the last opponent is usually, but not necessarily, the goalkeeper).”"

Next. The best Real Madrid player to wear every kit number. dark

The Real Champs
The Real Champs /

Want your voice heard? Join the The Real Champs team!

Write for us!

The issue here, of course, is whether or not Fabinho made a deliberate touch on the ball before it fell to Benzema. Which he did.

The problem here could have been the call on the field was offside and the VAR officials didn’t see enough proof to change the call made.